M.Ed., RD, LDN, CLC, RYT-200
Andie is a Registered Dietitian, Certified Lactation Consultant, and Certified Personal Trainer who thinks of nutrition counseling as equal parts science and sensitivity. She specializes in lactation, sports nutrition, exercise fitness, and weight loss programs.
Gluten is a protein found in carbohydrate foods including
rye, barley, malt, contaminated oats*, and the many forms of wheat including
bulgur, couscous, durum, einkorn, farina, faro, graham, kamut, semolina, spelt,
tabbouleh and triticale. Gluten can also hide in processed foods as an additive
to improve texture, taste, and extend shelf life (think chicken broth, salad
dressings, veggie burgers, soy sauce, seasonings, spices), and can even be
found in some medications. At a restaurant avoid these red flag words
which means the item may contain gluten: fried, coated, breaded, crispy,
crusted, malt in the form of malt extract, flavorings, malt vinegar, and many
Asian-style foods which may contain wheat from soy sauce.
Gluten-free grains include
amaranth, millet, teff, corn, gluten free oats*, buckwheat (despite the name,
it’s not actually wheat!), and quinoa.
*A note about oats: Oats themselves do not contain gluten, but they are often processed on equipment shared with gluten containing grains, or grown next to gluten containing crops. In order to be certain your oats are gluten free look for ‘gluten-free’ on the label.
The below meal and snack ideas
are all gluten-free and appropriate for those with celiac disease, a gluten
intolerance or sensitivity, or for those that choose to eliminate gluten for
other health reasons.
*Pregnant women should eat no more than 6 ounces of high mercury fish per week
For more on this topic, check out the following articles:
Our Happy Family Organic Superfoods Cookbook for Baby & Toddler is chock-full of yummy, easy-to-prepare meals your whole family will love.